Man, Do Your Damn Job!

Have you ever stopped to consider just how much your ability to do your job effectively depends upon other people’s abilities to do their jobs effectively? Or, more importantly, perhaps, do you realize that how you do your job is likely to impact how well others can do theirs?  This may not be true of everyone in every situation, but if you happen to work for a sizable corporation as I do, it’s probably true. We should be cognizant of this as much as possible, I think, and make a conscious effort to assist those who work with and around us as much as possible by simply dotting our i’s and crossing out t’s.

Case in point: in my job in the technical support department for a major cell [phone carrier, I often take calls transferred to me by other departments when a customer dealing with those departments has a technical issue that the originating department employee is unable to resolve. I get that. Not everyone has technical expertise (though usually just common sense is what is needed), and not everyone understands the difference between, say, wifi and cellular data or knows what Long Term Evolution really means. That’s fine.

Today, however, I was transferred a call by a rep in our finance department. She told me the customer, a Mr. Trevino, was “unable to connect to the internet.” The rep told me she had tried several very basic troubleshooting steps to no avail and would I please handle the call? Of course I did and learned pretty quickly that the customer’s name was not Trevino at all, it was Torres. Unfortunately it was the customer who informed me of this right after I called him Mr. Trevino. Strike one.

Next I discovered that the problem he was having was not his internet connection at all. His web-dependant applications on his device (Facebook, Twitter, and the like) were all working just fine. He was getting errors specifically only when trying to use his web browser applications (Google Chrome for Android devices and the phone’s default web browser were both returning “page can’t be displayed” errors when he attempted to browse to any website. His phone, however , showd that it was connecting to LTE normally and, as I mentioned, his email, facebook, and Twitter apps all worked just fine. So, clearly he was able to access the internet. Strikes two and three.

If only I’d known this before doing all of the standard troubleshooting steps I’d usually do for someone whose internet would not connect. This thirty-minute call could have been wrapped up in perhaps five if I’d been given an accurate description of the issue, rather than the lame “he has no internet” that my colleague gave me.

FML… right?

So, lets all remember to do our jobs, okay? I don’t care if you’re a street sweeper… be the best damn street sweeper that you can possibly be. Or, fuck it, who really cares anyway?

 

Leave a Reply

