Damn! That was Just Getting Fun!

Last time I posted anything to this blog, I wrote about Lisa and my love and adoration for Pub Trivia night at Double Shots, our local bar. Well, unfortunately, that is now a thing of the past.  Jeremy, the trivia host, posted on his Facebook the other day something like, “there will be no comedy at Double Shots tonight or any night.”   Jeremy also hosts an Open Mic comedy night there every Sunday evening.  Or, at least, he used to.  He didn’t say specifically what happened, but I immediately shot a question to him: “will there be trivia  at Double Shots on Wednesday?” He responded in the negative.  I can only assume he had some kind of falling out with the ownership, or maybe one of the bartenders.  Its too bad, as the trivia night was really starting to get fun for Lisa and I, not to mention lucrative.  I may not have mentioned this before, but I’ve been out of a job since early April.  That trivia money was only twenty five bucks a week, but it was coming in handy.  Now its gone. What. The. Actual. Fuck?

Oh well. All good things must come to an end, I suppose. On the plus side, I recently got a job. Its a crappy job, I’ll admit, and it pays shit (literally: I get paid in lumps of shit), but its a job. I won’t say where it is, because at this time I need to keep it; just know that it sucks. Still, a crappy job is better than none at all, and shit pay is better than no pay. We’ll be able to stop living on peanut better sandwiches and I’ll be able to pay the rent. My roommate will appreciate that. I certainly appreciate his patience with me thus far.

The thing about training for a new job is: it’s maddening.  We, as a class, get presented with a lot of information about the job itself and the company we’re working for. Naturally, there are several people in the class who feel compelled to ask repeated “what if” questions. “What if this incredibly specific yet highly unlikely scenario happens? What then?” Ugh. Still, I’ve decided to make the best of it.  We only live once, after all. I’ve literally come home every day this week complaining about just how shitty this job is. Lisa must be sick of hearing it. So, I’m not going to do it anymore.

What I am going to do is try to find a new pub trivia night somewhere nearby.  I seem to remember hearing that Crown & Anchor (a local British pub) does it on Thursdays. Of course you can go broke buying drinks in that place, there is that. Jeremy almost certainly does it some other places around town too.  Maybe I’ll hit him up on Facebook. After all, how willl we get along without our weekly brain exercise? And we’re pretty good at it. We could conceivably follow him around to the various bars and win nightly. Why not? We’re that good, Lisa and I.

In the interim, ther are plenty of trivia related podcasts out there. We both like to listen to “Good Job, Brain” and NPR’s “Ask Me Another” on a weekly basis. We also watch Jeopardy! every night, religiously. There’s also one called “Pod Quiz” that’s a lot of fun and its very similar to pub trivia. I recommend it.

 

Leave a Reply

