Star Trekkin’ Across the Universe

It’s almost that time of year again: time for Creation Entertainment’s Las Vegas Star Trek Convention.  Last year I wrote about how I had attended the convention with my roommate Leif (an avid “Trekkie”) who  attends every year and usually has multiple friends come in from out of town to join in the festivities.  It was my first science fiction convention of any kind last year and I had an absolute blast. I was planning to go this year and was looking forward to it, but a few life changes are going to prevent me from going this time around, unfortunately.

Needless to say, I was somewhat dishearted when i figured out that i wouldn’t be able to attend. But, hey, it’s probably the same show I saw last year anyway, right? Then i learned that one of my personal heroes would be in atendance this year.

Simon Pegg (Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, The World’s End) who plays Scotty in the J.J. Abrams re-booted Trek-verse is going to be there this year.

What!?

Simon. Fucking. Pegg.

And I’m going to miss it.

Damns and curses be upon thee, shitty new job with crap hours and limited days off until, well, forever! A pox upon thee and your family!

A Day or so after I learned that his royal Shaun-ness would be attending I also learned that he was charging $90.00 for autographs.

What!?

Ninety. Fucking Dollars.

Now you gotta understand, I love me some Simon Pegg. I saw Shaun of the Dead no less than twenty times before I purchased the Blu-Ray. i saw Hot Fuzz almost as many and drew my own comparisons between it and The Wicker Man (starring Edward Woodward, not Nicholas cage) long before Pegg wrote about it in his book Nerd Do Well. I even satthrough multiple viewings of Run, Fatboy, Run! In short, I am Simon’s bitch in several ways.

Not anymore.

Last year at the convention I met Heather Lagenkamp and Matt Frewer, among others. I gladly paid Heather the twenty bucks she wanted for an autographed photo. She is really not that big a star, but she was in a movie that I reflect on as one of my favorites for a long time, the original A Nightmare on Elm Street. Matt Frewer is, well, Matt Frewer. I didn’t get his autograph but would have likely paid for it if I had the money.

But, come on… Ninety bucks? Ninety of my most favorite dollars? Fuck you, Simon. Fuck you and the Nick Frost you likely rode in on. Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

