This, Too Shall Pass

money-05I suppose I’ve been whining a lot lately about the crap-ass job I felt forced to accept (just to, you know, eat and stuff) while I continued to look for something better. I even posted an entry to this very blog all about it (“Low Pay is Not Okay“) which garnered some interesting opinions. In the post, I expressed sympathy to the plight of fast food workers in this country who have been routinely striking with complaints of low wages and lousey benefits, as have many minimum-wage workers in various fields.

In the article I bring attention to the fact that President Obama has been pushing for a raise to the federal minimum wage for some time now and is constantly facing GOP opposition on this.  Because it’s, you, know, unAmerican for people to be able to support themselves on what they earn. Of course, they better not be asking for any kind of welfare or food stamp assistance while they’re earning those slave wages either.

IMG_8908I received one specific comment from some user calling himself UF82 (a chick magnet name no doubt, perhaps it’s a play on UB40 the 80’s reggae band named after the UK unemployment form? Nah, it’s probably not that clever) and UF had the following to say:

Your pay is not the company’s problem. I really wish I could explain to you what’s really going on. You probably won’t agree anyways. The blame for the mess you are in is a direct result of two things. Firstly, Government and their cartels and the partially Governmental Federal Reserve. How does regulation and governmental forces enforce cartels is something for you to learn from history. How the Federal Reserve gets rich from your pain is another. Secondly, you. Your skills are just not that valuable. If a monkey could do it there’s no reason to pay you more. Now rent costs is not your company’s problem. You need to fix the US$ purchasing power for that which is again Government and the Federal Reserve. How do we fix the dollar when liberals on Twitter think debt and running the printing press has NO negative effects? Technically, since citizens vote for government representatives and never hold them accountable, problems of government can be reduced to ignorant voters.

 

Okay, wait, what? “Your pay is not the company’s problem.” Umm, can I interject here? Is it not the employer’s burden to pay a fair and honest wage?  I’m not suggesting that my little customer service telephone gig should be netting me a hundred K a year or anything even remotely like that, but I do believe I should be able to pay the necessities like rent and food. It’s not as though Im trying to live far beyond my means.

“The blame for the mess you are in is a direct result of two things. Firstly, Government and their cartels and the partially Governmental Federal Reserve.” Huh? Is there a non-governmental Federal Reserve in the United States that I’m not aware of? “Government and their cartels?” What the actual fuck does that mean? What “cartels” is the US government a part of? Yeah, UF, you’re right, I don’t agree because you’re making no sense at all. You’re making shit up.

“How does regulation and governmental forces enforce cartels is something for you to learn from history. How the Federal Reserve gets rich from your pain is another.” Really? The Federal reserve is getting “rich” from “my pain?” I’m pretty sure the Fed is a governmental agency that isn’t “getting rich” from anything. A high school economics student could tell you that the Federal Reserve is responsibly for minting currency and sets the standard that interest rates are based on, that’s about it. The Fed is not “getting rich” off my pain or anything else, I promise. Are there perhaps some less than reputable people involved with the Fed? Most likely. Was Alan Greenspan (yeah, that name goes back a ways) a douchebag? Yes, definitely. But come on, dude… really? Put down the Kool Aid, UF. You’re sounding like a conspiracy theorist here. I smell a serious dose of David Koresh or some other cult wacko. You’re nuts.

“How do we fix the dollar when liberals on Twitter think debt and running the printing press has NO negative effects?” I didn’t realize that the liberals on Twitter (am I one of those? I am a liberal… and I am on Twitter… M1k3ybuddha32) set US fiscal policy? Maybe that happened while I slept late one day? I really need to tweet more often.

By no means do I mean to discourage folks from sharing their opinions about what I write. I’m certainly no authority on anything. But keep in mind, you should really think it through first. I suspect UF82 may have a bit more to say on the subject since I’ve pretty much called him out here. I welcome it. Should be great fun!

So I nearly forgot the point of this post, since I got all sidetracked with UF82’s wackiness. That piece of shit low-paying job is going to soon be a thing of the past for me as I have interviewed for, been offered, and accepted a technical support position with a company that provides insurance services to most major US cell phone providers. Yes! A REAL JOB starting soon! Now if I can just resist the urge to tell my current employer exactly where they can shove their shitty position…

One comment

  1. zobop republic · August 31, 2014

    Hello. I’m hoping your readers will want to learn some history about the Minimum Wage. It’s Medieval.
    http://disinfo.com/2013/09/how-the-black-death-spawned-the-minimum-wage/

    Thanks for the moderation.

Leave a Reply

