Out With the Old and In With the New

So, it’s finally happened. I started my new job and got out of the Sitel pit of hell I was working in since mid-June. For those keeping score, no I didn’t quite make it there long enough to honor the almost 3 weeks’ notice I gave them of my departure. Fuck ’em. That place can eat a bag of dicks. So, anywho, I’m much happier now; working in a field I have some expertise in and for a company that, at least so far, seems to value its employees.  The one down side? The office is a good 17 miles or so from my residence and to make the six a.m. start time I need to leave my house at about two o’clock in the morning. Meh. I can sleep on the weekends. The place provides some pretty good coffee free of charge.

A few other “new” things have happened in recent weeks, including some I wouldn’t normally be excited about. Fox Television, for example, premiered Gotham, their new series based in and around Detective Jim Gordon’s early days in the Gotham City Police Department. His first case is the murders of Thomas and Martha Wayne. As this is a Gotham City sans Batman (young Bruce Wayne does show up in each episode thus far, but he is, well, young; a child, in fact), it lacks a bit of the Bat-excitement we’ve come to expect. We are seeing proposed beginnings for various members of the Bat’s Rogue’s Gallery of villains, however, and have already met young versions of Oswald Cobblepot (The Penguin), Selina Kyle (Catwoman), and Ivy Cooper (I can hear Bat-purists crying foul now as we all know that Poison Ivy’s “real” name is Pamela Isley… don’t blame me, I didn’t write the thing) While I’m not as blown away by Gotham as I thought I might be, I have been interested by some of the choices the show has made; both those I agree with and those I do not.

Gordon’s mentor at the GCPD, for example, is Harvey Bullock, who is depicted as the dirty cop we’ve always known him to be. He abuses his power and takes bribes, but overall he’s really not such a bad guy. He does throw Gordon’s Boy Scout image into sharp relief, however.

Overall, Gotham is an interesting take on the Batman mythology if nothing else. It may not be the Batman show we deserve right now, but it just may be the one we need. Or vice-versa. I don’t know. Of course, like everyone else, I’d be interested to see whether they try to introduce the Joker and whether they’ll pull from The Killing Joke to do so.

Also new is the CW network’s The Flash. Spun-off from that network’s popular Arrow, The Flash tells the story of Barry Allen and how he became “the fastest man alive.” Of course, television has tried to us The Flash before; in 1990. The series aired on CBS and, while it was interesting (and featured Mark Hamill as a memorable villain called “The Trickster”), it lasted only one season. That was a different time, however, when super heroes didn’t really work on television and popular media. It was just after Tim Burton’s 1989 Batman, but long before modern forays into super herodom like Spider-Man, The Avengers, and Captain America. Will speedy fare better on television this time around? Only time will tell. As I write this, only one episode of the show has aired, and it seems fairly true to the character thus far, although a few elements of the origin story have been tampered with. Still, The Flash is fun if nothing else and isn’t that what counts in a super hero story?

Finally, it was with great excitement and anticipation that I and Lisa (my girlfriend – keep up!) watched the series premiere of The Walking Dead on Sunday. Unlike most of the American viewing public, I had not watched any of the previous season’s episodes, save the first one. This was because I really don’t watch much television at all. In fact, last year – nay, two years ago –  (and maybe I’ve told this story before), in November, I purchased a new TV from Best Buy. I got it the day after Thanksgiving as a part of the Black Friday doorbusters. When I set it up I moved my Xbox 360 from one corner of my room to another. You know, to seamlessly game on my new TV. When I did so I had to unplug both the Direct TV box and the existing television. They remained unplugged all through the year and I noticed last October whenever that the cable box had remained unplugged for the better part of a year. When The Walking Dead premiered last year I found I could not watch it due to the fact that the cable box was “de-authorized.” It’s now fixed.

I’m interrupting this story now because it’s a little out-of-date already. I started writing this while at work at Asurion. The next day, I was relieved of those duties. Why? Well, that;s not a happy story, let’s just say that the complaint about the commute to get there had to do with it. Now I’m continuing some three or four weeks after being relieved. I’m still looking for something new. The real down-side to this is I’m going to have to move out of my residence. It’s not an issue: Lisa and I have somewhere to go that should be okay, at least for the short term, but I’ve really had to swallow my pride a bit.

So I’m going to wrap this up for now and just say “wish  me luck.”

Leave a Reply

