Making a Little (More) Magic

Here he goes again, writing about that god dammed game! Well, yes. If you don’t like it you don’t have to read. The truth is, Magic has taken over my life again recently. I still suck at it, but that’s okay since it is still fun. Magic Duels (which I talked extensively about last time) wasn’t quite doing it for me anymore, so I broke down and reloaded Magic Online to my computer and made an amazing discovery: Vintage Cube is the best format to play! A format where you can draft a bomb like Primeval Titan right along with Black Lotus or Timetwister? Yes, please.

2017-06-28 It’s AWESOME!Have you ever wanted to play an opening hand like Black Lotus, Mox Jet, Sol Ring, Channel, Mind Twist? Well, it’s not guaranteed, but in this format it is possible. Granted, the cards they’re using here are “phantom” cards (meaning that after the draft they are not added to your collection), but maybe you didn’t hear me, Black Fucking Lotus is in the collection. So are all the Moxes, Time Walk, Ancestral Recall, Timetwister, all the Power Nine, along with other vastly overpowered cards from Magic;s history. Of course, I played, excited to get to cast Timetwister in a real game, only to die horribly the next turn by a multi-storm Tendrils of Agony. That’s okay though. I got to play Timetwister. I got to Dark Ritual into a Hypnotic Specter on turn one. I also plunked down Braids, Cabal Minion when my opponent had nothing but land in play. Good times.

2017-06-29 (3)Is it really that awesome? Yes, yes it is. Of course, the real beauty is in seeing your opponents come up with strategies that you never thought of. I just played a guy who had the grooviest combo going with Survival of the Fittest (a green enchantment that lets you discard a creature to search for another) and Recurring Nightmare (a black spell that plays creatures from your graveyard). After way too many turns of him recurring his dudes again and again, I gave up. But, it was a learning experience.

So now I’m all about Magic again. I’ve even vowed to teach the game to Lisa, something I’ve been promising to do for a long time, Well this week I bought two copies of the Amonkhet Deck Builder’s Toolkit with the express intention of doing just that. Yup, Real physical cards are once again in my possession,

download (27)Maybe now I’ll go play Friday Night Magic?

Fuzzy LumpkinEven Fuzzy is getting into Magic, Sure, if you know the game at all you’re probably saying that Scry? Investigate? Aren’t those primarily Blue abilities? Of course they are, but they’re also the perfect abilities for a Jedi Detective like Fuzzy, And he’s green. Deal with it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

